Its a way of life

Teaching for Illinois Virtual School (formerly Illinois Virtual High School) this past 7 years has become so much more than a job for me.  This past week we welcomed our new teachers at our annual summer pd institute.  We also welcomed a reporter from the Peoria Journal-Star.  She asked some great questions about what we do, why we were gathered, and what being an online teacher means to each of us.

My heart swelled as I heard teacher after teacher share stories of the difference we have had the privilege of making in our student’s lives.  And another word kept surfacing over and over, “family.” So after two very intense days of training, rather than burnt out I have to say I felt like I had just attended my family reunion.  The reporter remarked that she had never seen people at a pd so happy to be there.

I don’t know about other fully online schools, but for me its not a job.  Teaching for IVS is a community, a culture and a way of life.


Be a participant-Life is more than a spectator sport. Leave a Reply

